Southeast Missouri State University student publication

Student Government senators for 2017-2018 announced on April 10

Monday, April 10, 2017

Student Government Association welcomed returning and newly elected senators and officers for the 2017-2018 school year on April 10.

Peyton Mogley and Dylan Kennedy will return in August for second terms as president and vice president with their new treasurer, Andre Parker. Mogley and Kennedy will announce the rest of their appointed executive board in coming weeks.

"It's quite an honor to be able to carry on into a second term," Mogley said. "We're going to continue improving and learning the position. I think this year was a learning year for me, so next year will be a huge implementation year. I couldn't be more excited to have another year."

The races for executive offices were uncontested, as were elections for senator positions in the colleges of health and human services and education and the School of General Studies.The College of Health and Human Services was able to fill all five positions without elections, but the School of General Studies did not have any applicants for senators.

Any positions not filled by this semester's elections, any positions that become available, and appointments of first-year senators will be done through special elections next fall. Special elections are done through an application process. Applicants will be interviewed by a committee and selected.

SGA meetings are held at 8 p.m. every Monday in the University Center Ballroom.